Freeway Warrior

Freeway Warrior is set in the barren leftovers of the southwestern United States, in the futuristic year 2019. Most of the world was devastated in 2012 by a massive act of nuclear terrorism, and only recently have the survivors begun to resume life and leave their bunkers.

You are Cal Phoenix, a scout for the caravan moving from Dallas to California where hopefully life will be better.

It won’t be easy, though. Hard times breed hard humans. The road ahead is short on bullets and gasoline, and big on survivalists and bandits out to take whatever you have.

This series ran for four books, 1988 and 1989. It was written by Joe Dever, the same mastermind behind the Lone Wolf series.

1 Highway Holocaust
2 Slaughter Mountain Run
3 The Omega Zone
4 California Countdown