Other Gamebooks

Freeway Warrior

Freeway Warrior is set in the barren leftovers of the southwestern United States, after a massive nuclear attack. As Cal Phoenix, you are a scout for the caravan moving from Dallas to California where hopefully life will be better.

It won’t be easy, though. Hard times breed hard humans. The road ahead is short on bullets and gasoline, and big on survivalists and bandits out to take whatever you have.

This series ran for four books, 1988 and 1989. It was written by Joe Dever, the same mastermind behind the Lone Wolf series.

1 Highway Holocaust
2 Slaughter Mountain Run
3 The Omega Zone
4 California Countdown

Fabled Lands

Fabled Lands was a six-book epic. It’s not a series as much as an interconnected set of books forming geographic areas of the Fabled Lands. As you move off the edge of the map, you move into another book and start at some specific page number depending on where and how you entered that region.

Fabled Lands does not form a specific story line like most books, but presents a fairly open world in which you may find quests and follow any number of story lines.

1 The War-Torn Kingdom
2 Cities of Gold and Glory
3 Over the Blood-Dark Sea
4 The Plains of Howling Darkness
5 The Court of Hidden Faces
6 Lords of the Rising Sun

Fabled Lands was written by Dave Morris and Jamie Thomson. Thomson wrote Talisman of Death and Sword of the Samurai, as well as the Way of the Tiger series. Thomson and Morris together both wrote Keep of the Lich Lord. The books were originally published in 1996.

You Are Deadpool

In 2019, Marvel published a one-off adventure in which YOU become Deadpool, the sassy and violent super-anti-hero.

1 You Are Deadpool


The Fighting Fantasy fansite in which YOU become the hero!